Gang Starr Drop New Single “Bad Name” + Announce Album Title & Release

After thrilling their hardcore fans with a new single “Family and Loyalty” and its accompanying video, the legendary duo Gang Starr delivers the sophomore single titled “Bad Name” while detailing their new upcoming album aptly titled One Of The Best Yet.

“Bad Name” once again shows the incomparable chemistry between DJ Premier and Guru (RIP) as both aim to give us that classic undiluted hip-hop.  For the canvas, Preem crafts a solemn string-driven beat laced with his signature drum groove and an obscure vocal sample to match Guru’s reflective lyrics. Guru rue over the fact that the wackness is spreading like a plague and reminisces on the good days when real emcees were given the much-needed focus they deserved in the spotlight.

“Bad Name” is taken from the duo’s upcoming album in sixteen-years. The title is more than apt as it is taken from a Guru verse (which was in turn sampled on their classic song “Full Clip“). The project is a 16 track body of work entirely produced by DJ Premier and features prestigious artists such as Q-Tip, Royce Da 5’9”, Talib Kweli, Nitty Scott, and singer Ne-Yo. To further cement the duo’s legacy, Preem also invites Gang Starr Foundation members Group Home, Jeru The Damaja, Big Shug and long-time affiliates M.O.P.,  & Freddie Foxxx to help seal the deal.

Gang Starr’s One Of The Best Yet will available to stream on 1st November 2019 and you can Pre-order it via all DSPs here explicit versionclean version

Tracklisting & Credits


  • ‘The Sure Shot’ (Intro)
  • ‘Lights Out” feat. M.O.P.
  • ‘Bad Name’
  • ‘Hit Man’ feat. Q-Tip
  • ‘What’s Real’ feat. Group Home & Royce Da 5’9”
  • ‘Keith Casim Elam’ (Interlude)
  • ‘From A Distance’ feat. Jeru The Damaja
  • ‘Family and Loyalty” feat. J. Cole
  • ‘Get Together’ feat. Ne-Yo & Nitty Scott
  • ‘NYGz/GS 183rd’ (Interlude)
  • ‘So Many Rappers’
  • ‘Business Or Art’ feat. Talib Kweli
  • ‘Bring It Back Here’
  • ‘One Of The Best Yet’ (Big Shug Interlude)
  • ‘Take Flight’ (Militia Pt. 4) feat. Big Shug & Freddie Foxxx
  • ‘Bless The Mic’