Rock of Heltah Skeltah Features Kuniva of D12 on “Wishin” (Music)

Hip-Hop veteran Rock (of Heltah Skeltah)  is preparing for his solo debut (Rockness A.P.) and has dropped a few buzzing singles to set things off.

For the latest single he connects with Kuniva (of D12) to deliver snarling and slick threats on the menacing “Wishin,” produced by Pascal Zumaque.

The two emcees make for an immediately compelling duo, partially because they’re both known for their show-stealing verses alongside their affiliated crews. And on “Wishin,” they spit venom-filled rhymes at their opposition.

For Rock, that means using his trademark growl to make clever pop-culture references amidst some crazy wordplay (the way he raps “Brownsville, aka the Wish-A-Nia Woods” is hilarious). Kuniva’s right there with him, though, as he dubs himself the “hood version of Eddie Haskell” and likens his rhymes to Ice Cube’s on Death Certificate.

It’s wild to think that Rock has been in the game for more than 20 years—as part of Boot Camp Clik and one half of Heltah Skeltah—but is only just now releasing his debut as a solo artist. But the rapper himself is aware of that, and its title, Rockness A.P., is a reference to his former partner-in-rhyme. The A.P. stands for After Price, a loving nod to the late Sean Price, who sadly passed away in 2015.

“Wishin” is the fourth instant grat track ready for download off the iTunes’ pre-order for, Rockness A.P. In addition to Kuniva, the 14 track LP includes guest features from Method Man, Raekwon, Inspectah Deck, M.O.P., Ron Browz, Ras Kass, and more. The album, which is due out Sept 22, is now available for pre-order on CD as well as through the digital retailer of your choice via Digital Déjà Vu Records.


01. Just Rap
02. Wishin (feat. Kuniva)
03. GW BaG
04. Camp-Wu (feat. Instpectah Deck, Method Man, & Tek & Steele)
05. Rumble for Me (feat. Kofi Black & Ron Browz)
06. O.G.
07. FaxMachine (feat. M.O.P.)
08. The Purge
09. Poof (feat. Buckshot)
10. Declaration (feat. Raekwon, Ras Kass & The Last American B-Boy)
11. Rockness A.P.
12. F.A.M. (feat. Young Noble)
13. Shine Down (feat. Kofi Black)
14. Da Streets Want Blood (Ron Browz Remix)